The new Audi engine classification: What's in a name?

You may have noticed that the badge on the back of your new Audi is slightly different. Because of the proliferation of new engine technologies, and all new electric Audi’s becoming available, we’ve changed the model naming system to reflect power output over engine size.

The new system

2580kW (107bhp) and below
30 81-96kW (109-129bhp)
35 110-120kW (148-161bhp)
40 125-150kW (168-201bhp)
45 169-185kW (227-248bhp)
50 210-230kW (282-308bhp)
55 245-275kW (329-369bhp)

Why the change?

More and more of our cars are being powered by alternative fuel such as electric (and hydrogen in other markets). The motors powered by these alternative sources do not have the same CC as a combustion engine.

Audi will be introducing a range of hybrid and fully electric vehicles over the next few years, starting with the all-electric Audi e-tron. The new nomenclature will make it easier to compare power output from different fuel types.

The sales team at your local Sytner Audi centre will be happy to assist you with any queries you may have.

Previous output designationNew output designation
1.0 TFSI 95PS25 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
1.0 TFSI 116PS
1.6 TDI 116PS
30 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
1.4 TFSI 150PS, 1.5 TFSI 150PS,
2.0 TDI 150 PS
35 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
2.0 TFSI 190PS
2.0 TDI 190PS
40 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
3.0 TDI 204PS45 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
3.0 TDI 286PS50 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
3.0 TFSI 340PS55 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
60 TFSI / TDI / e-tron
70 TFSI / TDI / e-tron